Big dreams with a small budget!

My affection for coffee started when I was probably eight years old. My Grandparents are avid coffee drinks (wine, too) and they are responsible for introducing me to the delicious world of both coffee and wine. Wine at a slightly older age. Slightly. 🙂 I’m only kidding.

It was around driving age, sixteen-ish to be exact, there hasn’t been a morning that began without coffee. Coffee = the starter to mornings. Coffee wakes me up. Coffee makes me happy. Coffee smells good. Coffee warms my soul. Hot. Cold. But I prefer cold lattes. I like whipcream and drizzles, too. 

So here is where the “big dreams” part comes in. I’ve always dreamed of owning my own coffee bar/lounge. But HOW do you compete with the delicious Starbucks monster?! Simple solution. You don’t. You don’t try to beat them. You join them. 

You see, my husband was sweet enough to buy me a Nepresso machine for our home in effort of decreasing my Starbucks run. Fail. Don’t get me wrong, the Nespresso machine is PHENOMENAL for espresso/lattes made at home but let’s get for real. You need syrups. Fine. Go buy the syrups from Starbucks. As you know, my favorite Starbucks drink is a Venti Iced Salted Caramel Mocha. So what’s that matter? Well, honey, it matters most. Starbucks doesn’t sell their “mocha” syrup because it’s made fresh every morning. So what’s a gal to do? Drink two lattes per day. One made at home and one from Starbucks. 

Tying the big goal to the small budget part. Bear with me here. So my husband and I were discussing my dream/goal to one day own a coffee shop this morning when he blurted out “let’s just look into franchising a Starbucks.” Oh. My. Gosh. That was beyond music to my ears. Literally, that is the most brilliant statement, comment, idea, recommendation, whatever that he’s ever had! 

So I’m on my quest now to learn more about franchising a Starbucks while working. Wish me luck. 

Xoxo,

The Momēak

Leave a Reply

